Pancha Maha Yagna

The Pancha Maha Yagna are:
Deva Yagna (worship of Devas)
Pitr Yagna (worship of ones forefathers)
Manushya Yagna (worship of fellow humans)
Bhuta Yagna (worship of other beings)
Bramha Yagna (worship of knowledge)

Every Family should perform
the Pancha Maha Yagna everyday. [+]

How does one worship each of these five ?

Deva Yagna is done by
offering to Devas through Agni.

Pitr Yagna is done by
offering rice (pindam) or
water to our forefathers.

Manushya Yagna is done by
offering whatever one has
to fellow beings

Bhuta Yagna is done by
offering food and other needful
to animals, birds, insects, etc

Bramha Yagna is done by
offering ones knowledge to others
as well as learning for self. [+]

Why do Pancha Maha Yagna ?

1. To make up for our everyday himsa

Everyday we do himsa (violence)
during our cooking, cutting, etc.

In order to make up for these
unavoidable himsa, one should do
the Pancha Maha Yagna. [*]

2. To express our gratitude

Our well being is dependent on
these five entities.

It is the blessing of the Devatas,
that we are able to live on Earth.
(We are unable to live on Mars
or Venus or even the Moon).

So, we should express our
gratitude to the Devas by
doing Deva Yagna.

It is due to our parents and
forefathers, that we have this
body. So, Pitr Yagna is an
expression of our gratitude to them.

It is the work of our fellow beings
that we enjoy things ranging from
the food on our plates to
the internet on our hands !

We are indebted on a daily basis
to living beings
as big as the cow for its milk and
as small as the bacteria for
converting the milk to curd.

Knowledge, be it on the material
level or on the spiritual level, is
what enables us to accomplish
our goals.

So, these five entities deserve
our gratitude.

3. To please, to be pleased and attain Supreme

Krishna says in the Gita:
“By worshipping the Devas,
the Devas are pleased, who
in turn please us. Thus, in the
process of pleasing each other,
we attain the Supreme.” [#]

Krishna says this to
illustrate the value of Deva Yagna.
This holds true for the other four kinds
of worship too.

Hence, this five part daily worship
is a path to the Supreme.

We will see each of the five Maha Yagnas
in detail in future posts.

[+] Apastamba Dharma Sutra 1:4:12:15
[*] Manu Smriti 3:68-69
[#] Bhagavad Gita 3:11

for Indian Heritage

Donate Now! to the Vedic School